Doctoral programmes

Institute of Doctoral Studies

   Ovidius University of Constanta (UOC) is an accredited institution of higher education, organizer of scientific doctoral studies, hereinafter referred to as IOSUD-UOC.

     Doctoral studies are organized by doctoral fields within doctoral schools provisionally authorized to operate or accredited. The doctoral fields that are organized within IOSUD-UOC are:

Philology, Theology, Biology, Medicine, Dental Medicine, History, Mathematics, Science of Sport. 



     The Council for Doctoral Studies, hereinafter referred to as CSUD, functions at the level of IOSUD-UOC as a body for the management and organization of doctoral studies, being headed by a director, who is an ex officio member of the CSUD, and the function is assimilated to the function of pro-rector.

     The CSUD has 17 members and is made up of PhD supervisors of the Ovidius University of Constanta, and PhD students. The methodology for the election of CSUD members is approved by the Senate of Ovidius University of Constanta.

     The term of office of a member of the CSUD is 4 years. Doctoral students who are members of the CSUD and complete their doctoral studies during the CSUD’s term of office lose their membership of the CSUD on the date of the public defence of their doctoral thesis.

     Administrative activities related to the conduct of doctoral studies in IOSUD-UOC and CSUD actions are carried out by the Secretariat for Doctoral Studies.

     In IOSUD-UOC, the Doctoral School is the administrative structure that provides the necessary support for the conduct of doctoral studies in a specific discipline or disciplinary or interdisciplinary theme. Each Doctoral School is managed by the Doctoral School Council.



      The doctorate is carried out on the basis of a doctoral studies contract concluded, with the agreement of the doctoral school, between the doctoral student, his/her supervisor and Ovidius University of Constanta, which establishes the rights and obligations of the doctoral student, the supervisor and, through the doctoral school, Ovidius University of Constanta. The annex of the contract is the Individual Plan of the doctoral studies.



     The duration of the doctoral studies is, as a rule, 4 years from the date of enrolment.

     The doctoral studies of the doctoral student are planned for each academic year and comprise two components:

·a) The training programme based on advanced university studies, completed within the doctoral school and made up of didactic-scientific activities (courses, seminars, laboratories and the like) which ensures the training of the doctoral student for 12 weeks, respectively 28 weeks for medical fields, and is carried out in the first year of the doctorate. The advanced study programme cannot be extended or interrupted.

·b) The individual scientific research program is organized in the field of research in which the doctoral supervisor has devoted him/herself.

     The two components: the Advanced Graduate Studies Programme and the Individual Scientific Research Programme are compulsory for the PhD student to complete the PhD studies.

     Completion of the advanced degree-based training programme may lead to the award of a number of transferable ECTS credits, determined at the level of the doctoral school by its own regulations.

     Doctoral studies end with the public presentation of an original work, called a doctoral thesis. The doctoral thesis must comply with the requirements set out in the doctoral school regulations. On the basis of the doctoral thesis and its public defence, the decision is taken whether or not to award the doctoral degree.



     Doctoral degree programs are organized with: funding from the state budget and on a fee basis or from other legally established sources.

     For doctoral students, at the proposal of the councils of the doctoral schools, the amount of the annual study fee, for each doctoral field, valid for doctoral students studying on a fee basis and the amount of the fee for the defence of the doctoral thesis. These fees are approved by the Board of Directors, validated by the UOC Director and made public by the date of the announcement of the doctoral admission competition for that academic year.


Composition of the Council of Doctoral Studies

2020 - 2024


Currently, through delegation of duties, the CSUD Director is Prof. Monica Vlad


The Commission for Internal Assessment and Quality Assurance, CEAC-ISD, consists of:

President: Prof.dr. Adina Ciugureanu

Members: Prof.dr. Flaut Cristina

     Prof.dr. Arghir Oana

     Prof.dr. Omer Ichinur

     CS I dr. Golumbeanu Mariana, INCDM “G.Antipa” Constanta

     Prof.dr. Brînzea Nicolae

     Drd. Libu Cristiana